Facebook Hoax - Facebook Privacy Features are a hoax
3537
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-3537,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,select-theme-ver-3.6,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.2.1,vc_responsive

Facebook Hoax – Facebook Privacy Features are a hoax

Because of the¬†post(s) going viral on Facebook …again. For the billionth time.
Pinching the bridge of his nose, Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg took to the podium at a press conference September 29th, 2015 and appealed to users of his popular social media network to stop being so God damn gullible when it comes to sharing bullshit about changes in Facebook policy.
hoax Facebook Jen Lew

Facebook users will have to start paying a fee of £5.99 to keep their status set to private.

The message claims, users can avoid this proposed fee and maintain their current privacy settings just by copying and pasting the information on Facebook. But, alas, warns the message, those who do not comply with either of the two options will find that all of the information they have previously published on Facebook – even deleted material – will subsequently be made public.

Or.. the other hoax implies the following

As of September 27th , 2015 at 10:50p.m. Eastern standard time, I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, or posts, both past and future. By this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates.

There is not even a minuscule thread of truth in this absurd piece of Facebook driven flotsam.Facebook Hoax

In fact, the message is just one more variant in a long line of ridiculous hoaxes that have claim that Facebook or some other online service would start charging if users did not repost a message.

Facebook has no plans to start charging users for normal access to the network. In fact, any such plan would likely be an act of financial suicide for the company. And, even if they did have such a plan, they certainly would not impose the absurd and ridiculous condition that users must pass on a silly status message in order to keep a free account.

For added impact, this variant of the hoax tacks on the mind-numbingly stupid claim that previously private user information will be made publicly available unless users repost or pay. This is apparently a rather lame attempt to panic privacy conscious users into reposting the nonsense on their walls.

So, if one of these nonsensical messages comes your way, please do not further clutter the Interwebs by reposting it. And, do the poster a favor by gently pointing out that he or she has fallen for a hoax and share this post instead. 

Some of the Facebook statuses have included that the media, notably “Channel 11” or “Channel 13,” have reported on the issue. They begin with the phrase “Better safe than sorry.”

Another similar post claims folks can pay a fee to have their information privatized:Facebook Hoax

Now it’s official! It has been published in the media. Facebook has just released the entry price: ¬£5.99 to keep the subscription of your status to be set to “private”. If you paste this message on your page, it will be offered free (I said paste not share) if not tomorrow, all your posts can become public. Even the messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. After all, it does not cost anything for a simple copy and paste.

 

These status updates have been debunked several times by Zuckerberg himself, and years a go by Snopes, the home of online urban legends. They addressed the fee post in 2011. Then a year later, Snopes tackled the privacy setting hoax. Both were deemed false.

If Facebook users, consult the¬†company’s legal terms¬†to understand what the company can do and not do with your information. One section of the terms says when you publish content or information using the Public setting, it means that you are allowing everyone, including people off of Facebook, to access and use that information, and to associate it with you (i.e., your name and profile picture).

The aforementioned page also guides users to¬†Facebook’s privacy settings.

Friends don’t let friends post stupid stuff to facebook. You are better off sharing this post instead!